caesen

About

The Institute of Government and Public Policy (IGOP) is a research centre of the Autonomous University of Barcelona (UAB), where it is based. Its origins are to be found in the Policy Analysis Team, recognized as research group since 1990. It got accredited as special research centre in 2002 and four years later obtained the official recognition as research institute of the UAB.

Aims

The IGOP was created with the aim of promoting research, training and dissemination in the fields of government and public policies. This was to be done from an interdisciplinary approach and, above all, with the capacity to combine academic excellence with social impact.

Research

We develop both competitive research projects (calls essentially driven by the European Commission, the Government of Spain or the government of the Generalitat of Catalonia) and applied research project, through agreements or specific assignments of public institutions and social organizations.

We have a broad agenda of research, mainly focused on the study of the activities of public authorities and their relations with stakeholders. Currently our research areas are grouped from 3 major areas:

  • Governance and democratic innovation
  • Analysis and public policy management
  • New technologies, social networks and common goods

Teaching

We have a PhD Program in Public Policy and Social Transformation, from the year 2014-2015 onwards shared with two departments of the UAB, as well as several master’s degrees, postgraduate studies and training activities. The doctorate is specifically oriented to academic excellence, while other programs, without sacrificing quality, they go more directly to the professional world, with the aim to facilitate a strong relationship between the university and its socioeconomic environment.

Research Agenda

To achieve the objectives of promoting research and training and social transfer, IGOP has built an extensive research agenda, which ultimately makes it one of the reference centres in the field of social sciences.

We have generated research on very diverse policy fields (education, social cohesion, water, environment, gender, consumption or health) and we have discussed concepts also very diverse (capacity for innovation, governance, citizen participation, new public management, joined-up governance or new technologies ).

However, our current research agenda is structured along our two formally constituted and recognized research groups:

AGAPP (Analysis, Management and Evaluation of Public Policy)

Beyond the generic analysis of public policies, we have focused the attention of our research in the following aspects:

  • New governance and deliberative administration
  • Innovation and Public Policy
  • Strengthening Democracy and regeneration of public institutions
  • Construction of a cohesive society

 

URGOCIS (Urban Governance, Commons, Internet and Social Innovation)

In a context that we have defined as a true change of era, we have focused the research agenda both in the study of this change and in the responses articulated by institutions and by society in order to adapt to the new situation. In particular, priority lines of research are currently:

  • Urban regeneration policies: neighborhoods in crisis and territorial segregation
  • Internet and its impact on the emergence of a new politics
  • Commons and social innovation capacity

Here you can download our corporate brochure to better understand who we are and what we do and the last 5 years history research.

Memòria IGOP 2010-13
Corporate Brochure 2016 (catalan) Corporate Brochure 2014-15 (english)

Management
and Administration

Director:

Raquel Gallego
Raquel Gallego (raquel.gallego@uab.cat)

PhD Coordinator:

Margarita León
Margarita León (margarita.leon@uab.cat)

School IGOP Coordination:

Ernesto Morales
Ernesto Morales (ernesto.morales@uab.cat)

Secretari:

Ismael Blanco
Ismael Blanco (ismael.blanco@uab.cat)

Research:

Charlotte Fernandez
Charlotte Fernández Plé (charlotte.fernandez@uab.cat)

Research
Coordination

Social exclusion and inclusion policies:

Margarita León
Marga León (margarita.leon@uab.cat)

Participation and Social Movements:

Marc Parés
Marc Parés (marc.pares@uab.cat)

Urban Policies:

Ismael Blanco
Ismael Blanco (ismael.blanco@uab.cat)

Internet Policy and Commons:

Mayo Fuster
Mayo Fuster (mayo.fuster@eui.eu)

Public Management:

Xavier Ballart
Xavier Ballart (xavier.ballart@uab.cat)

Raquel Gallego
Raquel Gallego (raquel.gallego@uab.cat)

Multilevel governance and welfare policies. Health, education, social services:

Raquel Gallego
Raquel Gallego (raquel.gallego@uab.cat)

Design and communication:

Jaume Badosa
Jaume Badosa (jaume.badosa@uab.cat)

Financial management
and administration

Manager:

Nacho Ruiz
Nacho Ruiz (nacho.ruiz@uab.cat)

Team:

Dolores Martínez
(UAB) Dolores Martínez (dolors.martinez-quintanilla@uab.cat)

Anna Maria Palau
(UAB) Anna Maria Palau (annamaria.palau@uab.cat)

BAUTISTA_Marta
(School IGOP) Marta Bautista (igop.bcn@uab.cat)

Researchers linked to projects

Alba Ballester (Project Manager CAPFLO), alba.ballester@uab.cat

Nicolas Barbieri (researcher),  Nicolas.barbieri@uab.cat

Helena Cruz (researcher), helena.cruz@uab.cat

Mara Ferreri (postdoc researcher), mara.ferreri@uab.cat

Zyab Ibañez (PROMISE coordinator), Zyab.Ibanez@EUI.eu

Bernat Quintana, (IGOP school), bernat.dequintana@uab.cat

Clara Ruro (Promise),

Noe Sotus (IGOP school),

Mercè Esteban (IGOP school),

Laura Capdevila (Master Coordinator), laura.capdevila.jerico@uab.cat

Angela Garcia (COPHAB),

Claudia Torres

Uso de cookies

Este sitio web utiliza cookies para que usted tenga la mejor experiencia de usuario. Si continúa navegando está dando su consentimiento para la aceptación de las mencionadas cookies y la aceptación de nuestra política de cookies, pinche el enlace para mayor información.

ACEPTAR